Skip to content

Can I Write That?

November 24, 2012

So, it just occurred to me. What if I did really write a book. How do I write honestly about friends and family? I mean, if it actually got published, if people actually read it and if I wrote the truth…..even if I change names, people will figure out who’s who and what’s what.

I’m not creative enough to come up with a made up town and made up places. I can have a pen name and make up names for my siblings and my kids and friends but I want Lafayette to be Lafayette and places like Pamplona’s and the Blue Moon and Carpe Diem to be real. I’m not smart enough to keep up with it otherwise.

I’m not so much concerned with my friends and family but what about people like Orange. That’s her nickname. That’s what I call her. I’m an ex-wife writing about the girl my ex-husband replaced me with. It’s an understandable coping mechanism to call her Orange. I don’t feel guilty about calling her that to my friends or in an anonymous blog. But to call her that in a book is another thing altogether. I don’t even know her. She’s probably a perfectly nice person. I don’t have anything against her, personally. The idea that she could one day know that the Orange so and so wrote about in that book that takes place in Lafayette is actually her is frightening to me. I don’t think I’m capable of being that cruel.

Or is all just fair game? It’s my life. My story. I can call whoever, whatever I want?

How does that work? How have other authors handled that?

Maybe I just won’t be able to call her Orange. Her orange-ness, I called her just today at lunch. That just makes me sad. What would I call her instead? What’s a tame nickname for your ex-husband’s new girlfriend? The Replacement? Driver of the Yellow Car? The new-Mrs. X? No. 2?

Suggestions? Thoughts?

BTW….while I’m asking, I appreciate all the “likes,” and I have a womping 14 followers now….thanks….but I’m not getting many comments.

I want some comments, people. Let me have it. What do you think?

From → Rantings, The Book

One Comment
  1. Taxlady permalink

    I love reading your blogs. Write that book. It may be the next Seinfeld TV show.

Leave a Reply

