Skip to content

Your Word

July 3, 2013

Kitten Reads A Book: Part 2

“Be Impeccable With Your Word.”

That’s the first agreement the author suggest you make with yourself. This is more than just being honest. The word impeccable means without sin (according to the author) and he defines sin as anything that goes against yourself. So, to go against yourself is to sin. Being impeccable with your word means to be honest, to be clear, to be concise, to say what you mean and ask for what you want. Seems simple enough. As we all know, it’s not easy to do.

The author goes a bit further and here’s where it gets a bit hokey. He talks about the power of words as being magical. To speak with honesty, truth and kindness is like using good magic on yourself and everyone around you. To blame, criticize, hate or lie is like using evil magic on others. I know this is a bit much. But it reminds me of what I used to read about magic in the wiccan tradition. People think witches really believe in the supernatural power of spells. The truth is, a spell is just a way of taking your goals and, through a ritual that speaks to the child within you, making your intent concrete. It’s not the ritual that makes the goal come true. The ritual is just you talking to yourself so your actions will follow your intent.

Being impeccable with your word is sort of a similar thing. It follows the same concept as karma. What you put into the world comes back to you. What you say to others has a power and an influence. When you use your word for kindness and honesty, that’s what comes back to you. When you use your word for what the author calls, “emotional poison,” that poison comes back to you as well.

“Your intent is manifest through your word. Your word is a force. It can create or destroy. It can set you free or enslave you. Your word is pure magic.”

Everyone abuses their words all the time. We use our words to spread jealousy, hate, anger and blame. We pull each other down with our words out of fear. We can do this with each other because we make agreements based on these lies. If someone tells me I’m a failure or “nothing but a burden,” I have to agree with it in order for it to affect me. It’s like the quote from Eleanor Roosevelt, “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”

By deciding not to give consent to lies, to negative opinions you can become immune to them. You can only give consent to words that come to you from honesty and love. Can it really be that simple?

“How much you love yourself is directly proportional to the quality and intensity of your word. Use your word to share your love. Your word takes away all fear and transforms fear into joy and love. You can become immune to hell.”

This is part of the equation that was missing when the therapists tried to tell me that no one can make me feel a certain way. What they left out was…..when someone puts you down, criticizes you, blames you……they are not being impeccable with their word. So, when my husband judged and blamed me for bouncing a check, though he had done the same thing himself many times, he was not being impeccable with his word. The therapists didn’t go into that part, they just laid the responsibility on me to not take it personally. But I’m getting to that.

When I started paying attention to the impeccability of my word, I also started to see how much others are not impeccable with their word. My boss who changes his mind from one day to the next and isn’t honest with me about the future of my job. My co-worker who sees everything in terms of winning or losing. Acquaintances who paint pretty pictures of their perfect lives. People who are rude or condescending.

This concept helped me to see the past in a new light as well. How many times did I accept the poisonous words of others as my own truth. I agreed with their concepts. But they were not being impeccable with their words. What they were saying to me was not about me. It was about them.

I think I could have saved myself a lot of grief if I had accepted this concept earlier in my life but it’s the next one that really blew everything out of the water.

From → Rantings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

