Skip to content

Kitten Shuts Up About the Book

July 10, 2013

Kitten Reads a Book: Part 6

I know I can’t really sum up this one person’s work in a few blogs. I know I’m being a little bit crazy by trying to explain what these ideas mean to me and how they are changing the way I see things. But that’s what this blog is for. To just get it all out. Writing is just how I process my thoughts. It’s my magic.

Humor me with this one last blog about this and I’ll shut up about it and go back to gushing about my latest crush or ranting about my past.

For me, The Four Agreements boils down to a few simple things.

You have to know who you are. You have to be confident in who you are. Your sense of self must be rock solid and not at all dependent on the words, approval or actions of others. It’s the only way you can keep the agreements.

You have to be honest and clear with yourself and others about who you are and what you want.

You have to know yourself and be yourself every minute of every day.

Fear is the enemy of happiness.

Forgiveness is the only way to get past your pain.

You really are in charge of your happiness and peace of mind. You are the only person responsible for it.

Another quote:

Whatever life takes from you, let it go. Be present. You were born with the right to be happy. You were born with the right to love, to enjoy and share your love. You are alive so take your life. Don’t resist life passing through you because that is God passing through you. Just to be, to take a risk, to enjoy your life is all that matters. Say no when you want to say no. Say yes when you want to say yes. You have the right to be you. You don’t need the acceptance of others. You express your own divinity by being alive and by loving yourself and others.

You have to stand up and be human.

It’s such a simple idea. Such simple statements but if you haven’t believed them before and they come to you at just the right moment in your life, they’re breathtaking. I love that line, “Don’t resist life passing through you because that is God passing through you.” I’m an atheist and that sentence made me cry.

I know I’m being preachy and I can’t really convey the change I’m experiencing. I guess like the other stories I just wanted to write about this thing that happened to me. This new found knowledge. It might not last. I might forget about it in a month or a year or think it’s bullshit. I don’t know.

For now, the right ideas came to me at just the right time when I was ready for it and I needed it the most and it changed my life.

And that’s enough of that.

From → Rantings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

