Skip to content

Pensa-fucking-cola

August 13, 2013

Another e-mail from the ex. Another weird reaction. I see his name in the inbox and I skip a breath. Not the way I used to when he drove up and I was excited to see him. The way you take a breath when you see a roach on the wall.

“I’ve accepted a job with Ricoh USA as a systems engineer. I’ll be relocating to the Pensacola area in the next few months.”

Our son had been over to see him. They fixed the brakes on his car. He met the girlfriend. Had I met her yet he wanted to know. “She seems nice.”

I read it and felt like I was going to be sick. I don’t know why.

Pensa-fucking-cola. No offense to you Pensacolians but Pensacola is just not my idea of a place I want to live. Unless you’re in the Navy, live on the beach, are on vacation or like looking for underwater UFOs, it’s just not a great place to live. Our daughter lived there for a while. She hated it.

I replied to the e-mail. “Congratulations” and “Yes, I have.”

He’s leaving Lafayette. Lafayette is mine. No more seeing him and Orange Tranny at Pamplona’s. No more running into him in social settings. I remember looking at his facebook page from my Dad’s house after I left him. He was still the new owner of the company. He was at this social event and that club meeting. Hobnobbing with the who’s who of Lafayette. Sponsoring events. VIP passes to Festival International. I was waking up every morning wondering what would become of me.

Two years later and he’s leaving. Moving to Pensa-fucking-cola.

In the middle of the divorce process he had told a mutual friend of ours….”If only Marie had stuck it out a little bit longer, everything would have been ok.”

No, it wouldn’t have. If I had not left I would have been a witness to the demise of his ownership of the company. I can only imagine the level of tension and stress that came with that process. And now, I would be moving AGAIN. After the promise of a new life in Lafayette, I would have been asked to adjust again and I would be preparing to move to Pensa-fucking-cola.

Wow.

He’s going to be in another town, another state now.

I guess I’m getting Lafayette in the divorce.

From → Rantings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

