Skip to content

The Cover Letter I Want to Write

June 17, 2017

Marie
Today’s date.
Cover Letter

 

To whom it may concern,

What do you want me say? What are you looking for in this “cover” letter? Is this just an extra hoop you want me to jump through? Is this a way for you to know that I’m really serious about wanting this job?

Is it a test to see if I’ll take the time to customize the letter, adding details about the job description and your organization?

Are you looking for the ability to form a complete sentence and run spell check? Are you testing my maturity to see if I know how to write like a grown up and not just text-short hand?

Are you skimming over looking for relevant content? Are you looking for that one person who has a witty opening sentence? Something to make you laugh or say, ‘Now that’s funny! That’s a person with character!’?”

How’s this:

For the love of God, would someone just give me a goddamned job!? All I want is to make enough money to rent a crappy studio apartment near my family. Is that too much to ask? I can write. I’m a good photographer and I like to make things pretty. Just give me some creative work, a decent group of people to work with and a salary I can live on. Why is that so hard to find in this godforsaken wilderness?

Just give me a chance, please. At least an interview. If you’re going to reject me, do it properly by allowing me to be awkward and weird in person. If I’m going to be rejected, let me fuck it up properly. I’m pretty good at it.

I traveled all the way from Louisiana to be here. I gave up all my stuff, said goodbye to my friends and the weather and beauty of Louisiana. The least you can do is give me a chance to live here properly.

What do you say?

 

Marie
Contact Information Here

 

 

From → Rantings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

